I did it on my phone and it worked, but after that when I would go back in, the request never appeared again?
It will only appear again for you if you ignored it the first time. It registers the IP address from your device so it knows if you have already accepted it or not in the past. Otherwise, it would keep annoying your visitors. If you clear your browser cookies it may reappear.